Why Don’t You Have a Boyfriend?

no boyf

A question I’m asked quite a bit. This seems to be something that bugs my Mother more than it bugs me. I don’t have a boyfriend, so according to her I don’t have a life. This is offensive in many ways:
a) I do have a life
b) It suggests that my success is only measured by how attractive a man finds me.

Whatever happened to measuring my worth by what I have personally achieved, and how I treat the people already present in my life?  What about my talents? Or whether I’ve taken part in voluntary work in one of the world’s poorest countries? Is all that really cancelled out simply because I’m a lone ranger?

Attached people, do I ask you WHY you’re in a relationship? Do I look at you like you’re a leper when you tell me how long you’ve been together? Do I ever assure you that one day you’ll be single again? No.

 People have many reasons for not being in a relationship. To judge them on it is somewhat insensitive.

It’s really lovely that you have a partner. Maybe one day I’ll have the same, but for now I’m working on loving myself,  building my life and being the best person I can be, because ultimately that’s what life is about, yes?

1 Comment

Filed under Lifestyle

One response to “Why Don’t You Have a Boyfriend?

  1. “It’s really lovely that you have a partner. Maybe one day I’ll have the same, but for now I’m working on loving myself, building my life and being the best person I can be, because ultimately that’s what life is about, yes?” Oh my goodness, I love this! 🙂 I actually just did a post about the same thing over at Beautiful Promise. Feel free to check it out! ❤️

Leave a Reply

