Mr Boring

We’ve all witnessed those type of couples. Couples that sit there in silence during dinner, with absolutely nothing to say to each other. You would expect to encounter this situation after many years of bliss. Certainly not on a first date. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you, my date with Mr Boring…

Looking back on it now, I probably should have left before it even started. We had agreed a meeting place and time. Pretty easy, but it seems Mr Boring is also Mr Unable To Follow Instruction, because 1) he was late
2) he didn’t even show up at the correct place.
I found myself trekking half way across town in order to find him. Not impressed.

When I found him I was hoping that he was going to pull something out of the bag that might make up for it. He was tall, dark and handsome. Aesthetically pleasing, but I am looking for more than that in a partner. He had said that he would take me somewhere impressive, somewhere different. I was hopeful. I asked him where we were going, he looked at me, shrugged, and said “I dunno”
Right then. Maybe I read into things too much, but when a guy doesn’t show much thought or interest in something, it kinda says he’s not really bothered.

We eventually found somewhere to eat, he admitted to being a fussy eater and turned his nose up at pretty much every restaurant I suggested. We were sat down on a cosy table for two, and the conversation dwindled from there really. I asked him about his hobbies, his job, what he had been up to during the summer months… “Nothin” was the standard answer to most of these questions.

Nothing?! Nothing? How do people do literally nothing with their lives?

After what seems like an age of talking to, what it felt like was a brick wall, I eventually decided my food deserved more attention. I had lobster. It deserved the best of me. He seemed pretty repulsed by my love of seafood and proceeded to tell me so. I don’t really want to hear about how the taste of my meal would make you feel sick. Rude.

So for the guy who had promised me something “different” for our first date, what did we do next… We went shopping. Snore. Now I love shopping. Most girls I know love shopping. But if I wanted to go shopping I would go with one of them. We spent the rest of the afternoon walking around in silence until I got my flatmate to give me a call to pretend the washing machine had leaked and she needed my assistance. He asked if we could see each other again. I said no. In the nicest possible way.

Thank god for take away pizza and the fact my Sky Plus is set to record Four Weddings.

1 Comment

Filed under Lifestyle

One response to “Mr Boring

  1. Dude sounds like a loser. All looks, nothing going on upstairs.

Leave a Reply

